Previous Topic

Next Topic

Book Contents

Book Index

Activating/Deactivating a role

To deactivate a role:

  1. Select Administration>Roles. The list of roles appears.
  2. Locate the role that you would like to deactivate.
    • To filter the list: If there are too many items in the list for you to see what you need, you can filter the list using the Filter and Contains fields above. More info...
    • To sort the list: Click any of the column labels. If the list has more than 25 rows, SmartTurn creates additional list pages. When you click the column labels to sort the list, SmartTurn includes all the rows from the overflow pages in the sort.
  3. Highlight the role that you would like to deactivate, and click Deactivate iconDeactivate up above. The screen refreshes, and now displays as "Inactive" in the status column. You will also see a message, in blue, at the top of the screen, confirming the change.
  4. Inactive roles cannot be assigned to users. Users that already are assigned this role will no longer have access to the permissions in this role starting the next time they log in.

To activate a role:

  1. Select Administration>Roles. The list of roles appears.
  2. Locate the role that you would like to activate.
    • To filter the list: If there are too many roles in the list for you to see what you need, you can filter the list using the Filter and Contains fields above. More info...
    • To sort the list: Click any of the column labels. If the list has more than 25 roles, SmartTurn creates additional list pages. When you click the column labels to sort the list, SmartTurn includes all the roles from the overflow pages in the sort.
  3. Highlight the role that you would like to activate, and click Activate iconActivate up above. The screen refreshes, and now displays as "Active" in the status column. You will also see a message, in blue, at the top of the screen, confirming the change.
  4. Active roles can be assigned to any user. Users that that already are assigned this role will have access to the permissions in this role starting the next time they log in.

See Also

Managing roles

Viewing roles

Adding a role

Editing a role

Copying a role

Default roles

Role field descriptions

Role strategies

Maintaining roles

Steps to set up role-based security

© 2014 Dicentral Corporation http://smartturn.dicentral.com